Celebrating Health Center Quality Improvement

August 25, 2020

HHS announced over $117 million in Quality Improvement Awards (QIA) to 1,318 health centers across all U.S. states, territories and the District of Columbia. The QIA recognize the highest performing health centers nationwide as well as those health centers that have made significant quality improvements from the previous year.

Health centers are recognized for achievements in various areas, including:

  • Improving cost-efficient care delivery, while also increasing quality of care.
  • Reducing health disparities.
  • Increasing both the number of patients served and patients’ ability to access comprehensive services.
  • Advancing the use of health information technology.
  • Achieving patient-centered medical home (PCMH) recognition.

Health centers that ranked in the top 1 to 2% in one or more key areas—behavioral health, diabetes prevention and management, and heart health—received designation as National Quality Leaders (NQL).

The top 30% of health centers that achieved the best overall clinical performance received designation as Health Center Quality Leaders (HCQL).

See the fiscal year (FY) 2020 QIA recipients.    MISSOURI RECIPIENTS

Health Center Program Awardee Data pages display the QIA badges that a health center has received. If your health center received an NQL and/or an HCQL, you will receive certificates and QIA badge images to display on your website or in promotional materials. This year, certificates will be delivered electronically through HRSA’s Electronic Handbooks (EHBs) and will be mailed at a later date. Contact Health Center Program Support for questions about certificates and badges, or to request a high-resolution QIA badge.

To learn more about the overview and impact of QIA, and the FY 2020 QIA categories, criteria, payout, badges and terms of award, please join us for a webinar:

Thursday, September 3
2:00-3:00 p.m. ET
Join the webinar the day of session
Call-in: 888-469-1066
Passcode: 8944659