NRHA 2024 Rural Health Award Nominations Now Open

December 29, 2023

NRHA 2024 Rural Health Award Nominations Now Open

Nominations are now open for NRHA’s 2024 Rural Health Awards. Each year NRHA honors outstanding individuals and organizations in the field of rural health who have dedicated their time and talents to improving the health and well-being of others.

Previous Rural Health Award recipients have stretched the boundaries of possibility by forging innovative programs and services, making rural life healthier and more compassionate.

Consider nominating your favorite rural health individual, program or organization.

  • Selections made solely based on a 300–500-word narrative

Organizational Awards:

  • Outstanding Rural Health Organization
    • Recognizes any community-based group or organization that has improved access to health services and information for rural people through innovative, comprehensive approaches.
    • Factors considered include:
      • Outreach
      • Preventive health and education
      • Quality and efficiency of care
      • Strong community support and involvement
  • Outstanding Rural Health Program
    • Recognizes a community, regional or statewide program involving one or more health professionals or entities that promotes or facilitates the development of rural health delivery systems.
    • Factors considered include:
      • Coordination of services with other health care agencies to avoid duplication of services, networking and collaboration with other health care entities to achieve common goals
      • Innovation in development and implementation
      • Lasting impact on populations and areas served

Individual Awards:

  • Louis Gorin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Rural Health Care
    • Award recipients selected based on their:
      • creativity
      • unselfishness
      • compassion and
      • cooperative attitude in seeking ways to make lasting contributions to rural health care
  • Rural Health Practitioner of the Year
    • This award is inclusive of all health disciplines
    • Factors taken into consideration include:
      • Providing outstanding care
      • Involvement in the community
      • Lasting contributions to the health care system
  • Outstanding Researcher or Educator Award
    • Criteria considered include:
      • Scope of accomplishments
      • Significance of the work to rural health
      • Sophistication of the scholarly effort
  • NRHA/JSI Awards
    • Eligible candidates include:
      • Individuals enrolled in an institution of higher learning in some form or capacity
  • Student Leadership Award
    • This award recognizes extraordinary leadership activities demonstrated by a student in the field of rural health.
    • Candidates will have displayed a vested interest in improving rural health care and demonstrated an ability to work towards this improvement
      • Efforts may include:
        • Organizing and directing rural health activities or groups
        • Significant achievements
        • Unique approaches to identifying or meeting needs
        • Commitment of time/effort
  • Student Achievement Award
    • This award recognizes extraordinary student-initiated activity within the field of rural health
    • Nominees will have significant accomplishments in:
      • Rural health care delivery
      • Education
      • Promotion
      • Research and/or advocacy

Nominations that do not meet the membership requirement will be disqualified without notice.

  • No more than three nominations per individual or organization
    • Only the first three nominations will be given consideration
    • Letters of recommendation or other materials are not allowed

NRHA accepts online submissions only and the deadline is Tuesday, February 20.

  • Click here to nominate an organization or program
  • Click here to nominate an individual

You can meet the winners during the NRHA’s Annual Rural Health Conference in New Orleans next spring.

Learn More about the NRHA Annual Rural Health Conference